Amazon recommendations

Netflix famously offered a million dollars to improve its recommendation system. I don’t think it would cost that much to improve Amazon’s system. What they have now seems really bad. Has anyone ever received a good recommendation for a book from Amazon? I haven’t. Every time I look at the things they recommend for me, it’s the same collection of old jazz CDs and technical books. The recommendations never seem to change.

When I go into a bricks and mortar store, I usually see an interesting book and wind up buying it (either at the store itself or later on Amazon). I know which sections of the store to look in, and even which shelves. But with Amazon, the selection is too big. There’s no way that I know of to find interesting books. And that’s too bad. I like buying things from Amazon. I would probably buy more if it were easier for me to browse.

Leave a Reply

